The Four Agreements for my mother

So, I’ve decided I’m going to buy a copy of The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz for my mother for Mother’s Day.

I love my mom, but lately she’s been under a lot of stress and she’s feeling trapped. By bills, a mortgage, a career, a marriage, and children. She’s almost always unhappy, any little thing will make her angry, or worse, make her cry. She seems to be completely unaware of her own worth and constantly seeking the validation of others. Something really needs to change for her, but it’s not a change that can happen externally. It’s something she will have to change within herself. Once she was free-spirited, creative, kick-ass, and strong. And now she just seems like a bad caricature of the wonderful, inspiring, and amazing person she once was.

The four agreements that Ruiz speaks of in his book are this:
Be impeccable with your word
Don’t take anything personally
Don’t make assumptions
And always do your best

By embracing these four agreements one can experience profound personal freedom, an increase in self-esteem and self-worth, and general spiritual growth. I myself am a big fan of Ruiz’s work, although I find it hard to practice each of these agreements all the time. I really think I can recommend these books for anyone, no matter who you are, if you read them they will change your life for the better, because they will change the way you see yourself and the world around you.

So this Mother’s Day instead of buying her jewelry or trinkets, I’m going to try giving her the gift of her freedom back. I know what a wonderful person she is, I just wish she knew this too. I hope that she actually reads this and doesn’t just sit it aside.

What are you doing for Mother’s Day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Holiday, Reading, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

