In which a book is reviewed, a new book is drawn, and a winner is announced.

As you all know (or maybe you don’t if you’re new here, in which case HI!) I’ve been reading
The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper.

I’ll give you all a brief synopsis of the story, followed by my thoughts, and my rating of the book.

*BEWARE OF SPOILERS*

Synopsis : The Dark is Rising was first published by Susan Cooper in 1973. Her Dark is Rising series has become a modern classic, and has gathered a cult following of those who love the genre (Arthurian Myth, fantasy, or Young Adults. Take your pick.) and is arguably her most well-known work to date. I’ve already reviewed the first book in the series in my first post. Over Sea, Under Stone was to The Dark is Rising as The Hobbit is to Fellowship of the Ring. The story is that of an 11 year old boy named Will Stanton who lives with his large family in the English countryside. Strange things begin to happen the day before his birthday; animals behaving oddly, strange people following him, and a fateful gift given to him by an unlikely friend. Then on the day of his 11th birthday his entire world is turned upside and changed forever when he finds out that he is the reincarnation of some long ago being of the Light, the good guys, who call themselves the Old Ones. Will is suddenly plunged into the age old battle of Dark vs. Light, Good vs. Evil and is struggling to learn how to use his newfound abilities to stay alive, protect his family, and save all of humanity from the Dark. Because the Dark is rising.

Review: As with the prequel, I was kind of disappointed with The Dark is Rising. I find this really surprising because I really admire Susan Cooper as a writer, I’m a huge fan of her other work. My favorite book of her’s is King of Shadows in which a young boy, who is part of a troupe of actors that travel around putting on Shakespeare, is carried back in time where he meets the most prolific writer of all time, The Bard of Avon, and becomes an actor under the great man. That book I would fully recommend to you all, it’s such a great book with lots of interesting historical bits. I just wish I could say the same of The Dark is Rising. Let’s start with the things I liked about it though. I liked the fact that the young hero wasn’t alone, he had many allies, and also the fact that he wasn’t a reluctant hero. He just accepted his destiny and took up the mantle with no questions (which was a double edged sword for me). I really like Ms. Cooper’s writing style, she paints such a beautiful and lyrical picture of the world and of her story. I also liked the concept of the book. I liked the potential that I saw in the story.

That said, let’s talk about what I didn’t like. Like I said, Will not being a reluctant hero kind of posed problems for me, even as I found it a refreshing change. I would expect of any young boy, presented with this terrifying and dangerous destiny and unimaginable powers, to show some kind of EMOTION. But no. Other than mild surprise and a twinge of fear he just took it in stride and went on his merry adventures. There were a few brief segments where he got angry, and those parts were excellent, because he was showing some strong emotion. Those parts were too brief and too few for me though. Another thing was that while Ms. Cooper did such an amazing and lovely job of describing scenes, and the countryside, and the weather even, I have no idea what most of the characters were supposed to look like. This is something that drives me crazy in books. The characters seemed two dimensional, nothing real about them at all. I think the biggest thing that I didn’t like about the book was the way that time seemed to flow. Will, as one of the Old Ones, was able to time travel a bit. So in the book it would feel like several days should have passed in the course of only one day. The entire book is set over, at the most, a week. And yet so much happens in that week, that it is simply not believable.

The thing with me, and liking a book, is mostly all about my ability to believe that somewhere, somehow, this story could have actually happened and that these people could exist. So since I found this book, while well and beautifully written and imagined, to be so entirely unbelievable I can’t give it a high rating or recommendation. I will say though, that I think if I had read it while I was still a child I would have loved it. Check it out for yourself though, you may well love it. And definitely read some of her other books because they are really great!

Rating: 3 1/2 Bookies!

And now, for the newest book from the hat, which I am about to draw right this moment……How to Wash a Cat by Rebecca M. Hale! I’m sooo excited! This book is the first in a new mystery series, and I loooove mysteries. I hope it will be really good! You know what that means boys and girls, that means someone else just won a free copy of this book as well.

How to Wash a Cat!

And now I will draw one name from the hat! Who will it be? *Drumroll*…….

JOEL! You will be the proud new owner of your very own FREE copy of How to Wash a Cat! I will send you a message to the email you subscribed with! How fun! Thanks for entering friend. Everyone else (all two of you others), keep entering to win. I’ll let you know when the next drawing will be and where to enter soon.

In the meantime guys, keep reading and use your thinking hats well!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Giveaway, Literary Projects, Reading Projects, Uncategorized, Young Readers

3 responses to “In which a book is reviewed, a new book is drawn, and a winner is announced.

  1. grandecoffee

    FYI if you’re all wondering our lovely hostess has off the grid due to tornado/storm damage. She’s busy logging rather than blogging.

  2. grandecoffee

    corrected version:
    FYI if you’re all wondering, our lovely hostess IS off the grid due to tornado/storm damage. She’s busy logging rather than blogging

Leave a Reply

