Announcing last week’s winner and this week’s giveaway!

And the winner is……Grace Hudson!

What has Grace won? She’s won her very own copy of The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper.

The Dark Is Rising

If any of you missed the earlier post that explained the details of the contest you can click here to read that post.

You can win your own free book by leaving a comment on this post suggesting a book and the clicking the subscribe button. Grace, you can just keep racking them up for a while if no one else wants a free book…. This week’s book will remain a secret, and here’s why: As you all know, my project is about not only reading what I like to and want to read, but about reading what I need to read and what my friends have been telling me to read forever. So, in the very spirit of Reading From the Hat I will not be announcing the book before we have a winner from now on. If you win, you will be just as surprised by what we are reading as I am. Remember, I will be randomly drawing the entrants names from The Hat and also randomly drawing the book from The Hat. The book is my gift to you, and I will be shipping it for free. Really, there is no downside to this contest. Enter it people! Free stuff!

This week I hope to finish reading both The Dark is Rising and Sherlock Holmes, which means you can expect to see two new reviews and another drawing from The Hat in the very near future. Madame Bovary is looming near, as is my Book From The Hat Club book club book (er, we’ll work on how that sounds…) Girl in Translation. You can see the book club details here if you’d like to join.

What else is going on? Well, I’ve spent a lot of my free-time recently studying, researching, and writing a novel. I’m very proud of myself for finishing the prologue and first chapter both in the last 3 days. Yay! So the reading may be slow-going for a little while, but it’s in the interest of having more books in the world. My books. πŸ˜€ I’m even thinking of starting a sister blog to this one so that I can blog about writing, but that might be biting off way more than I can chew at the moment.

Keep reading people, and remember to enter the contest by commenting below and clicking the subscribe button!!!

6 Comments

Filed under Book Club, Giveaway, Literary Projects, Reading Projects

6 responses to “Announcing last week’s winner and this week’s giveaway!

  1. Grace

    Ok. So I hope you get more suggestions than just mine but here is my suggestion for this time.
    Eye of the Red Tsar by Sam Eastland.

  2. Longshanks

    The Hitchhiker’s Guide!! I feel blog-illiterate. πŸ™‚

  3. Joel

    I may have left my suggestion in the wrong place so I will put it here again:

    A Taste for Death by P.D. James

Leave a Reply

