Music to Read (and Write) Books by…

I’m eating a veggie burger and watching Hot Tub Time Machine because I’ve been reading Sherlock Holmes since I got off. I’m really trying to get through it so I can move on to the next! I want to steam roll this project like it aint no thang!

Anyway, I was working in the music department at the store today, and this always gives me food for thought and a great profusion new artists to listen to. I know a lot of people need quiet to be able to read, but I am absolutely the opposite. I need sound to engage my subconscious while my conscious roams the pages of a good book. But at the same time, you won’t find me listening to Nickleback or Metallica while I’m trying to power through Doyle’s masterful works. So here’s my current Reading(or writing) playlist.

Sigh No More-Mumford and Sons
The Suburbs-Arcade Fire
100 Lovers-Devotchka
A Winter Tale-Bobby Long
Este Mundo-Rupa and The April Fishes
Brothers Blood-Kevin Devine
Laptop Campfire Speed-Marco Mahler

There’s probably a lot more I could list, but it’s mostly been a rotation of the above mentioned albums. I won’t give reviews for each of the albums, yet, although they are all really fantastic pieces of art and they are all easy to listen to while reading, in a bubble bath, drinking a glass of pinot, or even washing dishes. I will say if you click on the link for Bobby Long and order his CD you get a free T-Shirt, and the CD is great anyway soo. Mumford and Sons is playing in Asheville in June, just in case anyone wants to go with me! And Marco Mahler is a friend, a great musician and artist, and also a really cool guy. I recently won a giveaway he was doing and got a really beautiful mobile, or kinetic sculpture, that he created. If you visit his site you can see some of his work, listen to his music and visit his etsy store!

So what do you listen to when you read? Or write? BTW Hot Tub Time Machine is bueno!

6 Comments

Filed under Literary Projects, Music Reviews, Reading Projects

6 responses to “Music to Read (and Write) Books by…

  1. D_Sparks

    I usually listen to Cladrite Radio. Makes me feel all classy and dignified.

    http://cladriteradio.com/

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today via Freshly Pressed. I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too. I’ve enjoyed having a peek at your blog. I really prefer silence when I’m writing or reading, although I don’t mind some quiet… very quiet… classical piano in the background.

    • Hi Carol! I really enjoyed your blog as well and thanks so much for giving mine a peek. I’m also a writer, but I guess I don’t really like talking about it or sharing my writing much right now. I hope you’ll be visiting here again soon, I know I’ll be looking in on your blog. 🙂

  3. rblackbird

    Muse is an interesting artist for reading and writing. They have the same sort of quirk I like to dwell on, so the interest comes from both subconscious and conscious, as you said. A few Japanese composers are on my list. I’m rather fond of violins and other strings. My current project has a huge amount of atmospheric inspiration from “Secrets” by One Republic.

    Reading and writing is an all-or-nothing experience for me, so I like to fill in the gaps where reality might sneak back in.

    • That’s it exactly my dear! I like to sit and read by candlelight with music playing in the background, usually surrounded by blankets and pillows. The atmosphere is everything. And that’s the same way I like to write, and even more so when I’m writing. When I’m writing I get into this mindset, and if my attentions drifts away from my train of thought and comes to far back to reality I inadvertently lose where I was going. Music helps that. I also get a lot of inspiration from music, so if I’m stuck on something I tune in to Pandora. 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

