A Treasure in the Trash…

I had quite the little adventure today. My mother and I got up at 6:30am to drive to Blue Ridge, Ga (about an hour and a half away) to pick up a friend of mine and bring him back to Rome so he could run some errands. I’m always up for a roadtrip, and the green hills and fields were breathtaking this morning. Cloaked in mist that hid a great many things beneath it, and gilded where the rising sun struck. Rainbows in miniature were everywhere and it was like we were driving through the clouds. To continue the story (I can’t help but wax eloquent about how beautiful it was this morning) on the way up to Blue Ridge we passed a lot of cute little junky antique stores, the kind we are famous for here in the South. I wanted to stop at all of them, but of course we were on a mission and none of them were open yet.

So this afternoon, mission accomplished, we had a wild hair and decide to go back out that way and stop at a few of these little stores. One of the larger, although more junky and less promising looking places, yielded much what you would expect. Depression Era Glass, Over-priced jewelry, coins in cases, broken dolls, and a multitude of books in every manner of disrepair. I wasn’t really looking to buy any books today, but I can’t help it. It’s this wonderful call inside of my heart that draws me to word on page. Most of the books were what I could consider junk. The ones that were new weren’t good books, and the ones that were antiques were of that boring droll nature that no one currently would buy it to read, but maybe to decorate with.

As we were leaving the store, empty handed, what to my wondering eye should appear? But an out of print book I’ve been meaning to buy and read for such a very long time. In the hat it goes, although can I just say how hard it is not to read it this very moment?

Since it’s out of print, if you guys want to read along with my project I would suggest buying a copy now, because you never know what will come out of The Hat.

Mata Hari: The True Story by Russell Warren Howe

The Mata Hari

Mata Hari: A True Story

1 Comment

Filed under Literary Projects, Reading Projects, Uncategorized

One response to “A Treasure in the Trash…

Leave a Reply

