Currently Reading and First Book From The Hat!

Hello All!

I welcome you for a first glance at the contents of my hat, but first lets talk about a false start and the other books I will also be reading!

Ok so, my friend Deana and I had decided some time ago that we were going to make a short list of books, mostly classics, that we both kind of wanted to read but never had and thought we should read. So we started off with the Sherlock Holmes stories, which I haven’t finished yet (but will soon) and she so kindly reminded me that I needed to finish reading that before the official start of this project. Since no one argues with that gal, I’m currently finishing Sherlock Holmes with no complaints because it is excellent.

Next on my list with Deana is Madame Bovary, which I believe we should be starting within the next few days. But what does this mean for my other project? I’ll tell you. It means I will frequently be reading two books at once. Not really a problem for me, since I’ve been known to juggle far more than that at any given time.

Now I know you are panting, waiting in anticipation. What was the first book!?! Well, I drew it out last week actually. Call it my tester book, to try out my little reading experiment and see if I would like it before I committed to it in writing. The first book was……….

Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

Synopsis: Three children are spending the summer at an old house in Cornwall. On a rainy day they come across an old manuscript and map hidden away and forgotten in the attic. The discovery of this article leads the children to adventure and danger as they race to find the treasure alluded to in the manuscript and keep it from falling into the hands of certain evil, which seems to lurk everywhere and in the unlikeliest places. They are aided in their quest by their eccentric uncle, who may not be at all what he appears. This book involves Arthurian myth and legend.

Rating: 3 out of 5 bookies

I was actually really excited when this was the first book I drew. I’ve wanted to read it for a long time, and for one reason or another just never got around to it. I’m really glad that I read it, even though it will not make it onto my favorite books list anytime soon. It was a very light story, and you can definitely tell that it was written for children, who I would recommend it for whole-heartedly, I only wish I had read it as a child because I’m sure I would have enjoyed it much more. The story was a bit predictable, and the characters were rather flat (the good characters anyway) Susan Cooper never described the main character’s appearance, and never said what age they were although one can deduce which child was the oldest and which the youngest from the dialogue. Probably my last problem was that the bad guys were a little on the fluffy bunny side. Voldemort would have slayed those guys. After he slayed the children about a million times. If you’re an Arthurian books fan, I recommend you read it just to say you did. If not I’d say you can pass on this one.

Next Time:
A review of The Sherlock Holmes stories, and I’ll announce the next book from the hat! Leave comments and recommendations for me!

6 Comments

Filed under Literary Projects, Reading Projects, Uncategorized, Young Readers

6 responses to “Currently Reading and First Book From The Hat!

  1. Abby

    I really like the start of your blog! As someone who has also read Over Sea, Under Stone, I would have to agree with your assessment, with one caveat. The later books in the series are much better (as in the ones that won a Newberry). And we’ll just pretend that no one ever attempted to make a movie, okay? Anyway, can’t wait to read your next post!

    • And since under your direction I re-entered it into the hat and out of the hundreds of books in there, magically pulled it out again I suppose I will have to read the other books. Apparently the universe wants it to happen.

  2. Deana

    Sherlock Holmes is amazing! I dont have anymore books to add. I know how you feel about my historical fiction. I’ll keep my knights to myself. Great start to your blog. Love it!

    • Ummm, we’ve talked about this. I love historical fiction. It’s just been such a long while since I read any. And all of the good looking ones are in big massive series! Thanks boo, love yah mean it!

  3. Pingback: In which a book is reviewed, a new book is drawn, and a winner is announced. | crookedpage

  4. I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should
    remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal,
    the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

